MA International Affairs in Europe

alexma63

Hello,

I am a graduate student from Ottawa, ON, Canada currently studying my Masters in Social Work at Carleton University (BA with Hons, Psych). 

Since developing a strong interest in international human rights, health and social policy during my studies, I have decided to apply to programs in International Relations (IR) and International Human Rights Law, LLM. I am interested in these degrees to add international knowledge to the issues that I have already studied. I am planning to apply in Europe for multiple reasons but the main two reasons being that I believe it's a great place to do an international studies degree and I've always wanted to live in Europe. 

That all being said I have a few questions and am looking for advice:

1. University recommendations. I would like to know if anyone has had an exceptionally positive experience anywhere in Europe with this type of study. Currently I plan to apply to Kent, Essex, Norwegian University of Life Sciences as well as a few schools in Ireland. I was wondering if anyone has had exceptionally positive experiences or could recommend a program. Essex looks like my ideal university given the course content. Does likelihood of employment vary for the LLM vs MA in IR in your experience (if you happen to be familiar with both)? I am interested in doing policy analysis for a large NGO (e.g. UN, WHO) or a government body like the EU.