How Do I Know if I Should Pursue Becoming a Professor?

PonderingSoc

Hey all, 

I'm a third year student, and I'm really struggling with this question and it has to do with a lack of confidence in my abilities. I always do quite well in my classes (A to A+ range generally) but I simply cannot seem to decide if pursuing academia is the right call for me. I know I would love being a professor, but everyone is telling me that it's so hard to get into a PhD program, then it's so hard to find a job after, and it takes so long that I'm wondering if it would even be worth it? I could easily go to teachers college if I want to teach (I know jobs are minimal but it's less time), or law school. 

What should someone honestly consider in my position? I am very scared that I will begin trying to accomplish this, only to find out years later that it was a bad idea and that i've wasted time and money. Is it normal to feel this way? Everyone else in honours programs seems to confident.. 

My current GPA is ~3.9/4.0 

We're in different fields, but I say this to everyone considering academia/professorship as a career: What else could you do with a PhD in your field? The reality is that very few (less than 5% in some cases, less than 20% in others) PhD graduates end up with permanent positions at a University. However, depending on your interests and your field, there could be lots of good opportunities for PhDs in other sectors. 

Personally, I knew that academia was the right call for me when I researched all of the career paths I could want and almost all of them either required a PhD, or you would have a big advantage if you had a PhD. Some career paths in Canada that required MA/MSc seemed to be mostly hiring PhDs too (due to the overflow of PhDs). And finally, I found some PhD programs that provided a decent salary, benefits so that I was not going into debt or paying too much "opportunity cost" to pursue the PhD.