Which should come first; the career/work experience or the graduate degree?

Nico Corr

I've been trawling this site and many like it for the past 2 years as in preparation to eventually apply for graduate schools specializing in my desired career path (international relations). I've been working full time while attending undergraduate classes from a top 5 Public School. I got pidgeonholed while seeking work after high school, and have been stuck in the education field, mainly in school administration for the past 10 years.  I've had my eye on making a career switch for some time, but haven't been successful for lack of having a degree, no connections to anyone in IR that could help make the switch, etc. I graduated in May, and have upped my efforts for the upcoming application season. I've taken the GRE once, and look to do so once more before the deadline to improve my scores. I've always been under the impression that in order to make such a career change, the most appropriate way to do so is to go to grad school in the desired field to get a degree which will allow you to gain the requisite knowledge, experience and connections to get a job. The more I talk to some people in the field, and the more I read other poster's threads, it appears to me that that notion is questionable.

I've read some threads on here and other places, that affirm that it's best to already have at least internship experience, connects, military experience or Peace Corps experience before even applying. Someone else I talked to that works for the federal government told me its better to get your foot in the door first, then get your employer to foot the bill for your degree.