Having a tough time adjusting to grad school?

Maura N.

I graduated with my Bachelor's in Biology last May, and am currently about 4 months into my new PhD Program. Honestly, I am feeling extremely lonely and bored. Everyone in my cohort is much older than I am (worked a couple years in industry or already have their masters), and they are definitely not interested in making new friends. My life consists of classes in the morning, followed by lab, and going back home around 6 or 7 with not much to do aside from reading papers or studying. It's so different from my chaotic days in undergrad where I was working/taking classes/doing lab work/ volunteering etc. yet I got along with everyone and enjoyed what I was doing. I still love what I do, but it's starting to feel pretty isolating. Has anyone else felt this way during grad school?

2 hours ago, Maura Ishii said:

I graduated with my Bachelor's in Biology last May, and am currently about 4 months into my new PhD Program. Honestly, I am feeling extremely lonely and bored. Everyone in my cohort is much older than I am (worked a couple years in industry or already have their masters), and they are definitely not interested in making new friends. My life consists of classes in the morning, followed by lab, and going back home around 6 or 7 with not much to do aside from reading papers or studying. It's so different from my chaotic days in undergrad where I was working/taking classes/doing lab work/ volunteering etc. yet I got along with everyone and enjoyed what I was doing. I still love what I do, but it's starting to feel pretty isolating. Has anyone else felt this way during grad school?