first conference. first paper presentation. first time flying international

Hi all.

Over the summer I participated in an REU. My advisor and I wrote a paper on our work and it was accepted to an IEEE conference -- in Paris!! I'm the first author, and will be presenting the paper. The only thing is, I've never been to a conference (I'm still an undergrad). I'm scared out of my mind about presenting in front of seasoned researchers. Especially since my advisor won't be attending! I'm going to be in Paris for a week by myself. I don't even know if that should be exciting (I'm more scared than happy about this, that's for sure). Anybody have any tips? I'm especially afraid of landing in France and having absolutely no idea where to go/what to do...for a whole week. Am I supposed to attend every day of the conference series? Should I stay and listen to everyone on the day of my presentation? How do I avoid people from scaring the heck out of me when I present? I don't even know what I'm supposed to wear :(

Whatever you do, don't walk around in shorts and sandals. You'll look like a tourist! Hehehe! Sorry, this was something a professor of mine joked about when he went to France to do some research. The first few days he was there, he dressed like... well, a tourist. The professors he went to work with there apparently made fun of him. As for the conference, best to lean on the conservative side if you're not sure.

Sorry I can't be of more help! Congrats BTW! That is one heck of an accomplishment! You should be proud!

Edited by robot_hamster

Congratulations on the conference!