New PhD Student: What is my title? Instructor, etc?

hejduk

I've got a Facebook profile (well actually two; one for personal and one for work) and currently I have my Facebook profile URL as www.facebook.com/professor_someone's_name. I use to adjunct, and was told by my colleagues that students could call me professor (which I know I wasn't, but was rather an adjunct or instructor).

While my new dept is laid back, I don't want to be calling myself the wrong thing. I include my Facebook link in the bottom of my email signature, as students use is a lot to contact me, etc. So now that I'm a PhD student, should I change my Facebook URL to facebook.com/instructor_someone's_name or is there another title I should be using? I include the link in every email, and I'd hate for some faculty member to be saying, "Why is so and so using the title "Professor" when he's only a PhD student?" (I'm guessing I'll hear more for Instructor.)

Hope that makes sense!

You're a graduate student now.

Not an instructor, not an adjunct, and not a professor, for sure.

All three are hired positions *separate* from teaching duties as part of a graduate school assistantship. That makes your official title "Graduate Student" or "Graduate Teaching Assistant". If you want to be formal, you can have your students address you as Mr./Ms., but that's about it.

Even if you used to be an adjunct, I'd think it would be worthwhile changing the page address so it doesn't look like you're overreaching.

Edited by Eigen

Hold up--just to check: you were calling yourself "professor" before you even began your PhD?!

What?

I'm assuming they have a masters, since they were adjuncting, in which case I would say it's reasonably acceptable.

Edited by Eigen