In a science Ph.D. program...when do I reveal that I want to leave with a Masters?

neurosciency

I am in my first semester of a neuroscience Ph.D. program. Last fall, at the time that I was applying, I enjoyed research, wanted to be a PI of my own lab, etc. I needed a Ph.D. for what I wanted to do.

However, within the past year I've done a lot of soul-searching and know that my niche is in writing about science. I've always loved writing, learning about all different types of science, and have been having great success freelancing in the past few months.

I know at this point that I want to leave here with a Master's, but the only other person that knows is my boyfriend. I continue on here with classes and my lab rotation like everybody else, but my heart isn't in for the long haul. I enjoy what I learn and do want an advanced degree in neuroscience so I can do something such as regulatory writing, but I just don't need a Ph.D. for what I want to do anymore.

When do I reveal to administrators that I want to leave with a Master's? My program booklet talks about Master's degree requirements, so I know they exist. I just want to get it off my chest. I honestly don't see myself here getting a Ph.D. and know in my heart that I won't. But there are some unknowns that I fear: will I lose my assistantship? Will labs want me to research for them? Will the school even want me there, wasting space?

Most other Google searches I perform yield results with people in their 3rd year and beyond wanting to leave with a Master's, but what should somebody in my situation do? Thanks in advance!

So first, is the MS that your institution grants a coursework MS or a thesis based MS?

If it's the latter, you'll need to pick an advisor/committee, and you should probably let them know before you pick, just because you could cause some serious resentment if they think they're taking on a PhD student and you turn out to be an MS student.