"Oh, don't worry. You'll get a job. You have a PhD!"

juilletmercredi

Is anyone one continually frustrated and angered by family and friends saying things like this?

I'm in my fourth year of a PhD program, and naturally I'm thinking about the job market since I will be on it in the fall. I'm in a social science field that is kind of in the middle - not overflowing with jobs, but not bad either. I'm planning to do a postdoc and then apply for academic positions, or maybe research positions instead/in addition. I've also entertained the idea of acquiring a practical degree that's very related to my research - I do research on mental health and it is one that would allow me to practice - but I'm just toying with it. I'm a very risk-averse person, and the idea of having no job and struggling makes me very anxious.

Anyway, whenever I try to bring up these anxieties with friends and family, I keep getting the wholly frustrating response in my subject line. They seem to think that employment is perfectly correlated with education, and that having a PhD means that you'll automatically get whatever job you want. I've mostly given up trying to explain the vagaries of the academic job market because the next statement is always "Don't worry, you're so smart!" I was the "nerd/smart one" in the family, so it's only natural for them to think I am some sort of special case, but *everyone* on the market was an above-average kid in school.

I know that they are just trying to make me feel better, but they actually make me feel worse because I'm not getting any real help for my anxiety. I know that I am a worrier and I experience higher levels of anxiety than most, so perhaps I am barking up the wrong tree and should see a therapist (again). But is anyone else frustrated by family being blindly optimistic when you know the truth?