Should I apply straight for Ph.D. or go the Masters then Ph.D. route?

TeaOverCoffee

I'm an undergraduate at a small public school in the South, and I'm obtaining a B.A. in English. I want to apply to doctoral British Literature programs, but I was told that typically STEM majors are the only ones who receive an opportunity to go straight to a Ph.D. program, while the rest of us must go through a Masters then Ph.D. I have not heard of many programs that fully fund British Literature students in a Masters program, though. I am a little worried that I will need to take out a hypothetical mortgage for a house in order to receive a Masters degree. Then I, of course, will still go on to receive a Ph.D. I know Ph.D. programs are often funded in comparison to Masters, which is the main reason I'd like to bypass the entire Masters process. Does anyone know if there are programs within the northeastern region that will accept a student straight into a Ph.D. program without a Masters degree?

There probably are. It's not my field, but I've learned that you don't take "typically" for an answer. One thing to consider - I was like you, trying to get into PhD. programs straight from an undergrad degree. I very well might (waiting to hear from two) but I've learned that while one might feel ready for a Ph.D., getting into any PhD program is difficult as an undergrad simply because most programs take people with experience (through a Master's) more seriously.

But, don't take my "typically" for an answer. Go for it. You and I might get into Ph.D. programs from a BA.