Research Experience for Grad School -What really count as one

jamebex

Hi all, I'm considering applying for graduate school in Cancer Biology come Fall 2015. Over the past months I've been seen alot of article around the internet and several advice about research experience been extremely important for graduate school acceptance. I'm somewhat apprehensive as I often times see applicants having two to three years research experience how is this even possible studying full time. Are Laboratory courses considered as part of research experience? In my undergrad institution, we are expected to take Laboratory classes as part of the thought courses. For example I have a biochemistry degree, every semester, we are expected to take between eight to ten courses, four often are majors of which we are to take laboratory classes for two, the other four or five is usually in Chemistry, Microbiology, Biological Sciences and are accompanied with laboratory classes.

Do all this count as research experience? If they do how do I quantify them in terms of years as most applicants do.

I'm sorry about the length of the write-up I just want to give out adequate info

Laboratory classes are not considered research experience.

Research experience is doing novel research in a laboratory group (not a course) most often run by a professor who is the PI. When applicants say that they have done 2 years of research, that just means that they have been working on research in these lab groups for 2 years. The time they spend doing research each week could be anywhere from 10-40+ hours per week, depending on their course load and and other commitments.

For example, I have 2 years of research experience.

April-June 2012 in lab group #1- I was an assistant on a genetics study. I took care of the plants in the greenhouse for a graduate student. Approx. 5hrs/wk/