Timeline correct?

tallulah

Hi there,

I'd like to know two things:

1) Would it be too late to take the GRE on October 30th for Deadlines on December 1st? I saw that submitting the scores officially takes only 10-15 days but still people here seem to take the test earlier..

2) The latest possible notification whether one's accepted or not is April 15th, right? If I get accepted just then, would there be any school visits or other important appointments scheduled shortly after (I'm an international student)? I'll probably have to undergo spine surgery next year around that time and have to plan the date of the surgery accordingly since recovering afterwards will take at least 4 weeks.

Thanks for any advice!

1) You're fine to take the GRE in October...provided you don't need to retake. The reason most of us take the GRE earlier is to allow time to retake if we're dissatisfied with our scores.

As for 2) I'm not sure exactly but by April I will be in the midst of my MSc finals and thesis hell. I too am an international student and will not be able to get to school visits then. However, I should be able to take a day to get to the embassy for visa interviews which will be essential. Theoretically you could be accepted as late as April, but from what I've gathered on these boards, most people find out their acceptances earlier (provided they're not waitlisted). Also, if a school needs you to visit them, I'm sure explaining that you're recovering from spinal surgery would be a good enough reason to not do a transatlantic flight! Just my 2 cents.

Edited by piglet33
Grammar