I am going to a private university in Nebraska and I'm in the accelerated degree program, which means I'll be done in March of 2017. I'm currently getting a 4.0 gpa. If everything holds up, I'll graduate with a 4.0 and get on the Dean's Honors List. 

I'm planning on applying to eight graduate schools, three of which are Ivies. I called each grad school and asked if there was a set amount of experience to get into their program and they all replied with no. They said they mostly look at the parts of your application that are your personal statement and your GPA and GRE scores.  

I am majoring in Child Protection and Juvenile Justice so my masters will be in social work, but I'm unsure of what to do to boost my application so I have a shot of at least trying to get in. I will have work experience by the time I apply and I'll try to gain as much knowledge as I can. 

I'm planning on applying to UPenn, Columbia, and Yale. I know they're very selective but what do you think I can do to make myself a better candidate?  

Thanks for the help guys. :)

14 hours ago, emylauren2794 said:

I am going to a private university in Nebraska and I'm in the accelerated degree program, which means I'll be done in March of 2017. I'm currently getting a 4.0 gpa. If everything holds up, I'll graduate with a 4.0 and get on the Dean's Honors List. 

I'm planning on applying to eight graduate schools, three of which are Ivies. I called each grad school and asked if there was a set amount of experience to get into their program and they all replied with no. They said they mostly look at the parts of your application that are your personal statement and your GPA and GRE scores.  

I am majoring in Child Protection and Juvenile Justice so my masters will be in social work, but I'm unsure of what to do to boost my application so I have a shot of at least trying to get in. I will have work experience by the time I apply and I'll try to gain as much knowledge as I can.