Being overqualified for clinical work?

Adelaide9216

Hello,

I have a question for you.

I am currently a final year undergraduate student in social work. I live in Quebec, so I had the opportunity to do a counselling program in CEGEP (the step prior to university in this province). I’ve worked mostly with women who have experienced trauma and violence both professionally and on a volunteer basis.

I have applied to start research based MSW next fall. My career goals are to teach and do research in social work. I also want to be an advocate for women who have experienced trauma and violence with a feminist perspective and work on policies that affect immigrants, refugees and racialized women here in Quebec/Canada.

I am already starting to think ahead and am considering doing a PhD. However, I’ve been told that if I do a PhD right away after my MSW, I will probably be overqualified for clinical jobs. I need to do clinical work as a social worker for 5 years full-time to be eligible to teach in social work in most places. I am turning 25 this year. I am passionate about what I want to study, however, I do not want to send my entire life in school. I have so many projects I want to get involved in and I need to have the proper education for it.

Do you guys have a take on this? Am I shooting myself in the foot if I do a PhD right after a MSW ? 

8 hours ago, Adelaide9216 said:

Hello,

I have a question for you.

I am currently a final year undergraduate student in social work. I live in Quebec, so I had the opportunity to do a counselling program in CEGEP (the step prior to university in this province). I’ve worked mostly with women who have experienced trauma and violence both professionally and on a volunteer basis.