What would you choose? And why?

Adelaide9216

Hello guys, I have a question.

My master's topic focuses on indigenous peoples. I just got an acceptance letter this week that I'm in for a program in which I will be supervised by an indigenous teacher next fall at the master's level. However, I have a teacher at my current university, with whom I've been working for the last three years, who is a chairholder, guarantees me work throughout my entire graduate studies and even a research internship for my master's diploma... but she is not indigenous herself and I have a bit of a dilemma of possibly re-creating dynamics of oppression if I work with an non-indigenous researcher considering the fact that I am non-indigenous myself.

What option would you choose? 

If it was me? I'd go to the program where I'd be supervised by the indigenous teacher, assuming there are no red flags regarding the rest of the program.

Then again, I'm not very risk averse. Where you're at seems to be the safer choice.

How's the funding at the program where you've been accepted? Funding would weigh my decision heavily, especially considering you've been informally offered some measure of funding at your current location.

Is there a chance you can still collaborate with the indigenous teacher if you stay at your current school? I believe your instincts are important--there is a long history of researchers reinforcing dynamics of oppression when the research is not guided by indigenous peoples themselves. I am glad you're giving this such careful thought. 

Thanks to both of you for your answers.