Question - Graduate School Research Experience

lewhenry

Hello! I'm interested in applying to Sociology programs for graduate study. I finished my undergrad with a double major from the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Business in May 2016. I have professors who are willing to write letters of rec and I recently took the GRE and scored in the mid 80th percentile for both verbal and analytical writing, but only 60th for quantitative (damn you, math).  However, as a business major, I gained little to no research experience and really don't have a writing/research sample that programs require you submit. 

My question being - is there a way for me to gain this research experience? Also, any general advice on pursuing a PhD in Sociology would be helpful. I'm a first gen college student, so navigating this can be a bit confusing. Thank you very much in advance!

MA programs are one way: Chicago MAPSS, NYU's AQR program etc. You can also looks to work at various research institutes, like the pop. centers at many universities (NORC at Chicago for example). But "research experience" can also be a really nebulous turn of phrase: what kind of research are you looking to do? I don't think a budding ethnographer would be interested in working as ICPSR or NORC.

I think MAs work for many people, but I would try to avoid it if at all possible. That said, changing fields can be difficult and it may be a good way to go. 

Like the above poster, there are some research centers and think tanks you may be able to work at. Also, see if there are any research opportunities with your past professors or anybody at your school in a relevant area. You may find that your mentors don't have research for you to work on but are connected to someone who is looking for help.