MPP in the US as an international applicant

ayra

Hello folks,

I am currently exploring MPP/MPA courses in the USA with an intention to apply for Fall'2018. I am specifically looking at courses which combine Public Policy with Science/ Analytics/ Data Science like UChicago's MS in Computational Analysis and Public Policy (MSCAPP) , CMU's MSPPM- Data Analytics Track. I have a bachelor's in computer science and engineering from India and 2 years of work experience as a big data engineer at a reputed MNC. In addition I have considerable amount of part-time public service experience and I am working on a project that applies big data in the development policy space. 

Considering my profile, what are my chances of getting admitted into such courses at the top schools. More importantly, since I am an international applicant, what will be my the job prospects post such a graduate education? What are the job prospects of a policy student specializing in data analytics?

Is the data analytics segment of such courses strong and rigorous enough to land me a job in the private sector in case the policy space does not have the desired openings?

Also if  you know of any good programs along these line, please do recommend

Any help will be greatly appreciated

• 3 weeks later...

You've mentioned very few specifics about your profile for me to make any guesses on your chances in specific programs. What I suggest you do is look at the 'Am I Competitive" thread under government affairs, it will give you a fair idea about the factors that go into consideration while evaluating your profile. Knowing (and having applied to and gotten accepted at) CMU's MSPPM and being a computer science engineer who made a shift into the MPP space, I think you could stand a chance at the MSPPM program. Again without knowing your undergrad GPA, GRE scores and the details of the kind of SOP you'll be writing and the LORs you'll be getting, it's hard to say.