Seeking Advice: Masters in Mental Health Counseling

WoosWoos

Hello!

First time poster here looking to get opinions/advice from any professionals in the field or individuals who were in a similar situation as I am now. Just a heads up—this is a long post.

I am a 25-year-old currently residing in the Washington, D.C./Maryland area who graduated from American University in 2014 with a Bachelors M.A. degree in Psychology. Since then, I have worked in several fields. I was an associate ABA therapist conducting one-on-one tutoring and trials with young autistic individuals. I also worked in content/marketing within the start-up environment. My most recent full-time job was an associate researcher within the commercial real estate analytics industry.

I have realized that the office environment is simply not for me. I am considering a Masters of Science in Clinical and Mental Health Counseling because I like the idea of helping people and interacting with others in a meaningful way. The prospect of having my own schedule and taking control of my own career/practice down the line also appeals to me. I have no problem narrowing down my career route, namely to marriage and child therapy. I do not want to jump into a Doctorate degree for this now, but that is something I could be open to down the line. The classes I enjoyed and excelled in during my undergraduate studies revolved around understanding human behavior, social psychology, forensic psychology (including a second advanced forensic course, which included Masters students), and principles of understanding human sexual behavior.

Now, if you think I’m making a solid decision so far, I also have two primary concerns: