What Actually Works to Increase AWA Score?

Crimson Wife

So I participated in a grad school admissions seminar today where the professor (who has been on an adcomm) said that for psychology, the AWA score is the most important, followed by the quant, and then the total.

When I took the GRE in 2015, I was aiming for Speech & Language Pathology, which focuses primarily on the verbal and only cares that the quant is >50th percentile and the AWA is 4+. So I prepped exclusively for the verbal and got a score I'm happy with (168).

I know how to improve my quant (relearning all the math I've forgotten) and will be studying with Magoosh and the Manhattan Prep 5 lb. book of practice problems.

I have no idea how to prep for the AWA section. I've always done poorly on standardized writing tasks where I have to talk out my @$$ in response to lame prompts in a very short period of time. I'm a good writer in real-life academic tasks like term papers where I have a decent prompt and plenty of time to think through what I'm writing. It's frustrating that my chances of grad school come down to basically the equivalent of being a loudmouth at a bar going off about some inane topic.

I did buy the ETS "Score It Now" service for the essay.

Is there anything else that actually works to raise a so-so AWA score?

Two things that really helped me.