Advice for an Unprepared BME

idkintj

Hi! I'm currently a Junior majoring in Biomedical Engineering at one of the best BME schools in the world, and I'm feeling very unsure about my future (aren't we all?). I have had very little experience in research (about one full semester) mainly due to the fact that I really did not enjoy it and I don't feel passionate about it. Through undergrad I realized that while I do love science, I don't love the tedious work behind it. I'd rather look at the big picture/finished product, understand the science behind it, and move forward with commercialization. I've been interested in the biotech/business analytics aspect of the field (I work in tech transfer) but I know that my current education isn't enough to get me a career. I've been thinking about getting a Master's in BME, Engineering Management, or biotechnology, and then going to medical school in an effort to build up the knowledge and prestige that will make me more marketable as a management consultant or something similar. But I'm not sure if my profile is competitive enough. I have a 3.2GPA with 2Cs and a W (im gonna get it to a 3.5 by the time I graduate even if it kills me), strong leadership/volunteering, and decent work experience in tech transfer. I plan to take the GRE this summer, and I only have two average recommendations that I know I could get. Also, which such little research experience and little interest, I may have to do the non-thesis option for grad school.

Overall, I'm just trying to collect as much advice as I can about what direction I should go in with my life. So, my questions are:

1.) What can I do in the next 2 semesters to be more competitive for grad school?

2.) Should I get a Masters in something outside of BME?

3.) Is getting a MS then MD really necessary? Is there a better educational path to take?

4.) Would it be worth it to take a gap year to really understand what I want to do in life?

Hello, friend. My take: