Questions!

quineonthevine

Hi all,

I plan to apply either this coming year or the following one, depending on whether or not I have a strong writing sample by the end of this summer. I'm pretty familiar with how the application process works, I think, but I have a few questions that don't seem to have obvious answers. I might seem a bit neurotic about this stuff, but I figured I'd ask!

Here's some background about me: I spent two years in community college, earning straight A's, and transferred to UC Berkeley as a third year philosophy major. I'm in my fourth semester now, and I plan to stay another semester, to graduate at the end of 2018. My Berkeley GPA is a 3.81 currently (overall college GPA is a 3.93) - I got one B+ in a literature class, and I've earned either A-'s or A's in my philosophy classes. For what it's worth, my transcript has an upward trend at Berkeley: I got mostly A-'s when I started out here, but now I'm getting mostly A's. I have two semesters left, including this one, and I hope to keep it up. My AOI's are primarily in meaning (esp. Wittgenstein, the rule-following considerations, Kripke's skepticism of meaning), epistemology, mind, and metaethics, in that order. I'm also very interested in the history of analytic philosophy. (I'm sorry if this is annoying; I just want to explain my background explicitly.) I expect my letters of recommendation to be strong - they'll all be from senior faculty, at least, and I'm pretty close with them.

1) What counts as one's Philosophy GPA, or what is typically included in one's Philosophy GPA?