transitioning into sociology

transition99

Hello,

So I am a foreign lang. literature major at a small liberal arts college, and I have some experience with the social sciences: 3 courses in economics, 1 in political science, and 2 in sociology. My background is all over the place, because as a scatterbrained, indecisive person, I decided to major in STEM, fucked up (enough to graduate, but not impressive),  and was unable to continue my previously serious interest in sociology and had to settle for a foreign language literature major with the minimal requirements. I really like academic life, particularly writing my undergraduate thesis, and would like to stay in it as much as possible. I don't think I want to get a PhD in literature, as I feel somewhat limited to have to center my work around literary texts, and because of the job market, I'm unwilling to go to PhD programs in literature at non-top schools. Even though my foreign language lit. admissions is far less competitive, even at top schools, I think it will be wise to move on to something that has positions outside of academia as well.

So here I am, considering the transition into sociology. I am planning to enroll at an English-speaking sociology of education program in Europe next year, which will last two years. (Also feel free to point out other masters programs to me -- preferably in Europe, with no tuition). I was wondering what you all think I could do to have a robust application to graduate schools for the Fall 2020 cycle. I don't know if I would have the capacity to get into top programs, but I'd definitely like to go somewhere decent. Let me know!

Thank you so much!

Edited by transition99