Biochemistry degree vs. Biology degree

bio160

Hello!

I am a sophomore in undergrad and am currently designing my four year plan. I want to pursue a PhD in biological research, probably in neuroscience or early development. My advisor thinks I should shoot for a double major in biochemistry and biology. Chemistry is definitely my most difficult class and has had the most significant impact on my GPA ( I generally earn between B's and A-'s). My school is on the quarter system and the double major would require three more chem classes than I would have otherwise. I am going to take a full year of O chem and a full year of bio chem regardless. The double major would mean I would not be able to take as many 3000 biology electives and I also couldn't graduate with honors. Given, the honors program at my school is pretty much a joke especially since I will probably get a distinction in major. Thoughts? Is it a good idea to pursue the bio chem or to just take extra biology classes? 

Thank you!!!!!

Hi! Wow that’s exciting that you are already starting to think about grad school. I personally don’t think the double major would be necessary. I would take a look at what classes are required for graduate programs you are interested in and make sure you fit those in with your required major classes. It would be better to stick with your biology major and have a higher GPA, rather than adding a second major and potentially lowering it with extra chem classes. I would also try to get into a research lab as soon as you can (which you will have more time for without the extra classes!!). Research experience + higher GPA will get you into better schools than a double major.  Just my two cents! Good luck! 

11 hours ago, bio160 said:

Hello!