Xenia2191

I just got a phone call from the Graduate Chair at McMaster University (Canada). They said they would offer me 7,000$ + a TA position with the option to match any funds I am offered from other Universities. I am so happy yet am a little disappointing that they seemed to start off with such a small scholarship. I see many people getting such high starting figures or being fully funded... Is getting substantial funding unusual in Canada or am I just not competitive......?  My degree is in sociology so maybe for that discipline, it is a competitive offer? I really have no clue. I'm happy yet kinda eh... 

Thanks for any help, 

me

Edited by Xenia2191

Did they say how much the TA position is worth? How many hours? The Collective Agreement for McMaster TAs states that a full semester of TA work is a 133 hour assignment. At a rate of about $42/hour, for TAing both semesters, this should be valued at around $11,200. So your total funding package may be something like $18,200. It's not great but it's certainly on par with Canadian graduate student funding. 

Also, is this a PhD or MA program? Many schools have minimum funding levels for PhD students (but not MA), although these minimums are around $18,200 too. 

You will still have to pay tuition out of this amount, and that makes it pretty hard to live on the minimum stipend. Hope you have other offers you can use to get this one matched!

8 minutes ago, TakeruK said:

Did they say how much the TA position is worth? How many hours? The Collective Agreement for McMaster TAs states that a full semester of TA work is a 133 hour assignment. At a rate of about $42/hour, for TAing both semesters, this should be valued at around $11,200. So your total funding package may be something like $18,200. It's not great but it's certainly on par with Canadian graduate student funding.