MA GPA

total_ noob

Hi everyone,

I'm in my first year of an MA, and it looks like I might get an A- or B+ in one of my courses. Will this hurt my application to good PhD programs when I apply next year? I know if I were still in undergrad that this probably wouldn't matter too much, but I get the sense that admissions committees have higher standards for applicants with an MA. Applicants with an MA--do you have a less than perfect grad GPA? Were you able to still do well with PhD admissions?

IT's too early to tell. You will probably pull through with an A- and not a B+.  Most professors take things like participation into account before putting in final grades.

I had one A-. I don't think it hurts that much.  

Edited by Neither Here Nor There

Considering we're at the midway point of the semester, maybe it's a better time to have a 1:1 with your professor and plan out how you can still achieve an A or A- instead of planning on how you'll explain away a B+ in a year.

That said, unless the class is in your AOI, I don't think it will hurt that much.  Heck, I had a C+ in an undergraduate philosophy course, and I still got into MA and PhD programs.  (In my defense, it was my first philosophy class, at the time I was a bio major, and I have a problem remembering/differentiating some names, especially foreign ones -- it was Islamic Philosophy.  I was very active in the class and department, and the same Prof later wrote one of my letters.)  One Prof I spoke to said getting straight As can throw up a red flag, that it wasn't challenging enough.  I tend to agree, and I think that may be one reason we see so many candidates drop out after the coursework is complete: these are good students, but perhaps not as good researchers, and to earn your PhD you truly need to excel at both.

7 minutes ago, syn said: