question: how the admission works?

mimster

Hi, everyone,

this is my first time applied for grad school. i was never prepared for the past three years until last spring break i finally changed my mind, and i got a real crappy internship the following summer. so i decided then to go to grad school.

i didn't really spend lots time on the GRE (i had three jobs back at that time) so i did really bad: verbal 410, math 790, and writing 3.5

im a math major and a political science and finance minor, and trying to get into math phd program. i didn't really put that much expectation on myself based on my gre score. i applied nyu(that's the one i really i wanna go to), CUNY, BU, Northeastern, and University of connectitcut(actuarial master) i dont really care about how the school ranks, i only care if i could get into any program, bc i dont wanna go back to work in that restaurant or that daycare center im working currently

ok, enough said, my question is, how do the admission work? since i have a bad GRE, is it possible that they wouldn't even want to review my profile just by first looking at my GRE score. I think I have very good recommendations and resume (b/c i worked a million jobs and i'm very involved in school, and im a very good worker and student to my boss and professors). i dont wanna miss my chance just b/c they think a bad GRE would be a legit reason to not be passed on.

i called CUNY last week and the guy checked my status saying mine is "pending", idk what that means, can anybody answer me that's be great! i was too scared to ask the guy over the phone b/c i dont wanna him to be annoyed by me.

thanksss a million.

thanks for answering my question.

i forgot to mentions that i have a pretty bad GRE subject too, that's the one im really concernecd about. i dont remember exactly, i either got 380 or a 38 percentile. either one would hurt me in my application.

do you think they wouldnt pass me on board just after taking a glimps at this?