Military History

willemvanoranje

I was wondering if anyone is applying to, doing, or has done a program in military history and what your experiences are.

I am a Dutch student from Utrecht and will do my military history master in the UK next year. I got into Glasgow but am still keeping my fingers crossed for King's College London.

For PhD I am also thinking about American universities since I went on exchange to UW Madison for a semester and I like the level of education.

Anyone doing something with military history here?

I am personally mostly interested in 20th century military history, conventional conflicts like both World Wars but mostly guerrilla wars, especially in Southern Africa.

I'm really interested in military history too, though I don't know if I'll end up focusing on it in grad school - depends where I end up. My main area of interest is World War II, especially in Western Europe.

willemvanoranje, I'd recommend looking at WUSTL- I went there for my undergrad and had several great professors who encouraged my interest in military history. UNC Chapel Hill and Yale both provide good support for military history research, as does Ohio State. Best of luck!

Ohio State may be the best military history program in the U.S. I've heard that UNC is pretty good too.

How about the University of Kansas? My interest is American involvement World War 1, I know that the museum is in Kansas City (an amazing place, check it out if you're ever in the area) but I don't know if the proximity to the museum and national monument breeds academics who make WW1 their professional focus

Edited by Joe Lordan

How about the University of Kansas? My interest is American involvement World War 1, I know that the museum is in Kansas City (an amazing place, check it out if you're ever in the area) but I don't know if the proximity to the museum and national monument breeds academics who make WW1 their professional focus