UNC Biostatistics Ph.D. vs. UW Madison Biomedical Data Science Ph.D.

Hi everyone,

It's near April 15 now. And I still can't decide on this two programs. 

---

UNC pros:

Higher rank in biostatistics, and better location (triangle area). I do believe UNC is more than well-regarded in this field. Does it mean their student will have better opportunities in finding academics and industry jobs?

UNC cons:

As an international student, I still haven't received any funding. And it looks like it has always been a problem for UNC. To me, it kills the creativity when you have to worry about money in PhD life. 

---

UW Madison pros:

It's full-funded. 

The curriculum of UW Madison seems legit to me. They provide 3 course sequences in Biostatistics Theory and Methods, Computer Science, and some Specialization Topics. I really like the CS sequences, because I'm major in Statistics now, and didn't get much CS training, which I think will be of huge importance in graduate study & research.

UW Madison cons:

As opposed to the UNC pros, it's not as highly ranked. The location and weather are not as good I guess? And it is a new program. I literally can't find any insider's experience. There are too many uncertainties.

---

Any thoughts on this two programs? Please help me, any comments or thoughts will be much appreciated. Thanks!!! 

If you work with a stats faculty and take a lot of stats courses, you should still have decent job prospects are Wisconsin, especially if you want any role that isn't being a methodologist at a top department (although that wouldn't be out of the question). UNC might have better weather for you, but Madison is an awesome town. I'd go with UW.