Opinion: UoPitts vs Berkeley Statistics.

Hi, I need help with deciding where to go. I got into both M.A at Berkeley, M.S at UWashington, and Ph.D (full funding) at University of Pittsburgh. Normally, I would take Pittsburgh’s offer without thinking but the thing is that I wasn’t confident enough to apply for Ph.D at both UW and Berkeley at first and considering apply to those two after I got my Master.

Now, I am stuck, because to me Pittsburgh is the safety option and I do not know that well about their statistics department. What should I do now, should I ask Pittsburgh to defer the offer for one year since if I attend Berkeley, it will take only 9 months to finish the master degree, then reapply to more Ph.D’s program including Pittsburgh?

My main research interest is Theoratical Stat and Probability Theorey, which is why I prefer Berkeley than any other schools since they have a very strong research group in these areas. Another note is that money is not really a big problem to me so if I spend time doing an extra year for Master would not be a cost problem. 

Last time I looked at Berkeley's M.A in stats it was VERY industry oriented and not a good fit for someone wanting to go on for a PhD. If you were trying to improve your odds of admission at top 30 schools then I would think Washington would be the better choice?

There's a huge difference between getting into the MS programs at those schools and the PhD programs.  There is no guarantee that you'll do better next time around and it will cost a lot of money. You could post your profile and we could give you more advice. But you probably won't be able to improve your results by getting a 1 year master's, especially not enough to get into a top 5 program. 

On 3/28/2018 at 8:00 PM, GoPackGo89 said: