Choosing an Advisor

mmm35

Hi everyone-

I'm trying to compare a few schools by the advisor I would chose at them, and I'm probably coming to the point of splitting hairs here, but how would you rank different ways of judging a professor's reputation? I'm an engineer, but feel free to offer advice relative to any field :)

I have been out of school for a couple years, so I have limited resources available in terms of asking professors (and my masters advisor wants me to come back so its a bit uncomfortable to ask him about it). So far I'm looking at numbers of publications and prizes won, but I get stuck with professors who don't list CV's. Does anyone have any other suggestions? Maybe I am over thinking this all and should be satisfied if they teach at a great school and have a good listing of publications and interesting projects (and of course, are a good fit personality- and research-wise)?

Thanks!

Graduate placement is a big one for me - I'm always trying to figure out where graduates from a professor's lab have gone on to (which is what matters, in the end). You can also look up number of publications indirectly by using search engines (such as PsycInfo, PubMed, etc.). Lastly (and leastly), you could simply pull up the program's ranking on U.S. News World Report etc. to get a very vague approximation of the program (and indirectly, the person).

I would be asking questions about what fellowships/scholarships/awards their students have gotten, whether and where there students publish and present, and the time to completion for those students.

Graduate placement is a big one for me - I'm always trying to figure out where graduates from a professor's lab have gone on to

What if a professor doesn't have graduted students yet (e.g. he's at the begining of his career), but he/she has lots of publications in many top journals and conferences?