Religion PhD - Results Page

sarah4153

• Replies 413
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yes, I'm sure we're not the only two on the board waiting to hear from Religion departments, so maybe everyone else will come out if we have our own board. :-D

It always seems to take Religion departments the longest. My co-workers say it's because they're waiting for a sign from God. Clever, I know.

I'm waiting on Yale. I got rejected from Duke a week and a half ago (by email), so I guess I didn't even make the first cut. Oh, well. I'm studying Hebrew Bible, and so for the rest of my applications I applied to Near Eastern Studies Phds, and not religion department programs.

All I know is a repeat of other information on this site. FSU has admitted, Duke has admitted or called for interviews (the same thing there) and rejected almost everyone, and Emory already invited several down for their weekend visit. I have not heard anything from anyone. Will keep you posted.

Thanks for creating this thread. I am going crazy waiting for answers. I have applied to 7 doctoral programs in early Christianity and have only heard back from Duke. Rejected so early! I am waiting to hear from Princeton, Yale, Harvard (PhD, ThD), UNC - Chapel Hill, and UCSB.

GRE Q: 690

GRE V: 710

GPA: 3.9 (master's)

Sorry, Sarah. Life is suffering indeed. Michigan's too damn cold anyway.

Indeed it is - the suffering bit. You're also right about the cold. It's about 20 degrees out, and just this morning I was thinking how much colder it must be in Michigan!

My friend and I applied to Emory. He was invited to campus for an interview that took place this past weekend. He said that something like 4 of the 5 final candidates in Theological Studies were internal, i.e. had done MDiv or MA degrees at the Candler School.