UNC biostat PhD without funding vs Chicago stat ms vs UW biostat ms?

Hi everyone! I am an international undergraduate student and an applicant in this cycle, and I am trying to make a really hard decision right now, so I hope to get some advice here. I am primarily choosing between three programs: Chicago stat master/UNC biostat Ph.D./UW biostat master. And here is some information and personal thoughts:

UNC biostat Ph.D.:

Pros:

1.      It is PhD. I intend to get a doctoral degree ultimately, so it will be great to go directly into a Ph.D. program.

2.      I am pretty interested in the researches going on here. Actually I am open to many different problems in the biostatistics field and the researches about precision medicine/statistical genetics/medical imaging at UNC all seem interesting to me. And it seems that the biostat at UNC has a pretty strong connection with their stat department?

3.      Good climate and good surrounding natural environments. Definitely a better place to live than Chicago I guess.

Cons:

1.      I have not received any funding yet. I emailed several professors but they either don’t have available RA positions right now or have to wait until late May to know if they will have enough funding to support me. UNC’s biostat department states on their website that over 95% of their current Ph.D. students receive financial support, but it does not seem like a quite positive process for me:-(

2.      The department is pretty big. I am not sure if they show enough care for their PhD students.

Chicago stat MS:

Pros:

1.      Chicago’s program is probably the best master’s program for Ph.D. preparation. I could have chances to get into other top-tier PhD programs two years later.

Cons:

1.      With 25% tuition waiver, I still need to pay about 40k for tuition for my first year. However, this does not seem that bad since I do not have financial support from UNC either.