Should I Accept an Offer or Take a Year Off?

I am having a dilemma on what to do. I can't decide if I'm just panicked and overwhelmed because the decision deadline is so soon, but I would really appreciate anyone's insights.

So I'm an undergraduate, and I've been accepted with full funding to University of Alabama for an MA. I've been accepted but waitlisted for funding at Syracuse for an MA. I've been accepted to Rochester's MA and given their highest funding offer (50% tuition). I've also been waitlisted at LSU's PhD program. 

I recently visited both UA and Syracuse. I really liked UA's program when I visited. The professors I met with were very intelligent and helpful, I really liked Tuscaloosa, and I generally got good vibes from everyone there. Everyone was really kind and genuinely seemed like they wanted me to do well and make the right decision for me. However, I am a 19th centuryist, and they don't have a huge amount of people in my field. They have two professors I really like and would enjoy working with, and they apparently have just hired Dan Novak, a Victorianist from Ole Miss, so there will be three. However, their Victorianist, who I would like to be my advisor if I attend is going on sabbatical in the Spring. The teaching load is also intense, being 2/2. I am also wary about Southern politics and its defunding of education (though UA seems to me like they have a lot of money, based on conference funding, grants, etc.). Also, I am inclined not to be swayed by ranking, which I do think is arbitrary, they are a lower ranked program and have lower placement rates. My overall goal is to go on to PhD programs and go into academia, and I know that the job market is really competitive, so I don't wanna shoot myself in the foot early on.