Issue Essay 1: Would Love a Review!

cherokeecierra

Hi everyone!

I'm in the midst of prepping for the GRE through Magoosh and was just assigned 2 essays for my study plan today. In Magoosh's resources, it lists this website as a place where you can post essays and hopefully get feedback from others. That said,  I'm posting the first essay I wrote today, an Issue essay. I'd love any feedback or review anyone is willing to give, as I don't have a writing tutor. Please feel free to butcher as needed, this is my first attempt at a GRE essay, so I'm sure it's a bit rough. The essay is pasted below.

Thanks! Much appreciated! 

Cherokee Washington 

Prompt:

"The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Often Times throughout history, authority figures, people who hold positions of power, and governmental systems are questioned by the societies they rule. It is true that those in power are elected to rule and guide the public based on their merit, rhetoric, and intentions, however, there are cases in which authority figures seek to only benefit select groups within society, rather than every member of said society. That said, I believe that the well-being of a public can be enhanced when those in power are questioned.

Essay: