Macro Programs - Comparisons UChicago, UIUC, etc

CashewGuy

Hi everyone,

So I am evaluating Macro programs.  I am a current BSW student at UIUC, which has an advanced standing Leadership and Social Change Program.  From what I understand, UIUC has a good program, I like the setting and instructors.  My main hesitation is that the Macro program is much smaller, and I am concerned about the amount of field placement for Macro that might be interesting to me.

I am also looking at UChicago.  UChicago is much more expensive, but I feel like the city of Chicago is a great place to get set up for Macro work, The SSA is ranked #3 nationally in Social Work, and I think that the field placement opportunities would be much more in line with my career goals and I think UChicago would allow me a better opportunity to network with people.  UChicago also has some dual law classes that I think would help with my interest in the intersection of social work and law, but not require the intensity of a dual MSW/JD program.  I used to live in Chicago and love the city, as well.  One of my main hesitations is the degree is an AM rather than MSW, and I worry a little about how this is perceived.

Both of these programs would take about a year with advanced standing.

I'm also thinking about Boston and Columbia, but they don't really make me super excited.  Can anyone share experiences with these programs, and offer some wisdom?

I feel like especially for more macro stuff the AM would be just as useful.  Everyone I’ve talked to considers the degree to be equivalent to an MSW, and I feel like when it comes down to it it would really just depend on your practicum experience and stuff.  I do like that the idea of a slightly more interdisciplinary option, though.