Not going to a conference that I am not presenting

I am now a few months into my postdoc. As I am new to the project, I don't have anything I can present in a conference yet.

I just learnt that there is a big conference coming up in my city in a month time. Neither my boss nor the department head has mentioned that attendance is mandatory. I was only asked to complete some experiments so they can present some data in their plenary talks. I have done a good job and they are pleased with that. But then, a PhD student told me that they paid the registration costs for the whole department, and everyone is encouraged to attend. She said she would be going anyway to listen to talks, but without presenting. Actually, I simply don't want to go, as I feel that it is more worthwhile to work on my experiments than wasting days on a conference that I am not presenting. I am aiming to get a few more papers out asap so I can apply for fellowship. The talks of many big people will be uploaded anyway, so I can listen to them later if I wish. Regarding networking, I did get to talk to people in previous conferences, but I did not get to make any big connections. In fact, I made those connections through actual collaboration, rather than from conferences. I know I have all the reasons to not attend, but I worry that I would be perceived negatively, e.g. a poor team player. I am new to the place, and it took me a lot of fight with my PhD advisors to get here. I treasure this opportunity very much. I just don't wish to leave a bad impression, but at the same time, I don't wish to stress myself overly again because I fall behind my experiments. 

It may be a silly question, but is it actually okay to not attend a conference that I am not presenting, under this situation? Thx!