Suggestion on Biochemistry Master's Program

Shams06

Hi good people, I am Shams from Bangladesh. I completed my bachelor of pharmacy in 2011 and master of pharmacy in 2013. I admit that I was not a good student and scored around 60% marks in bachelor and masters. Later, I took GRE and TOEFL and scored 305(v-148, Q-157, AWA-3.0) and 92. Since TOEFL expired after 2 years, I took IELTS and scored 7(L-8, R-7, W-7, and S-6.5). I have a very small research experience in Phytochemistry(a thesis during master's) and was able to publish a few articles on a few typical Indian journals (not significant to be honest).

In total, I have applied for 2 Pharmaceutical Sciences Ph.D. program in the fall of 2015, 4 Biochemistry Ph.D. program in the fall of 2016 and 1 Biochemistry Ph.D. program in the fall of 2017. All the programs & universities I applied were down of the list on US News graduate school ranking list. Yet, I got rejected on all of them!

I have 3 years of experience as a Quality Assurance Officer in a pharmaceutical. To be honest, I don’t love spending my life doing what I do now. So, even after all those rejections, I am kind of desperate now to get back to academic life.

But repetitive rejections in last 3 years, have kind of made me think that I am not good enough for a Ph.D. program though out of those 7 programs 3 professors in 3 different terms assured me to provide funding. Yes, I don’t have good grades and that might be a cause of rejections.

At this point, I am thinking whether I should lower my expectations or try for a Master's or would it still be a good approach to try again for a Ph.D.? It is always a hassle to get recommendations from previous professors and I am tired of getting rejected! :(

Can anybody please give me some kind advice on what I should try for? Master's or Ph.D.?

If master's, then can you please name some easy to get into master's program in biological sciences, biochemistry or pharmaceutical sciences?