Interested in Clinical Psych, but not sure how to get there

Em1994

Hey guys!

Brand new to the forum, so please bare with me! 

Quick background: I have a Bachelor's in Neuroscience (GPA 3.1, not great, I know) and thought I wanted to do research when I graduated in 2015. I did one year of research after graduation in toxicology (not specifically neuroscience geared) but realized I didn't want to pursue that. Recently I have been thinking I want to do Clinical Psych, but I'm not sure how to get into the field. Do I apply for a master's degree first then a PhD program? What is the path for someone like me who hasn't been in school for a while or done much research but wants to go to grad school for clinical psych?

Just not sure what the next step would be. Obviously, I will want to take the GRE first, but then what? Apply to schools I like for a master's in psychology? Or is there a specifically clinical psych route to take? Honestly just not sure since I have been out of school so long and I don't have the resources to help guide me in the right direction. 

My advice would be to try to get a job that will give you some more relevant experience for graduate school. If you're wanting to pursue a career in clinical psych research you could try to find a paid job or volunteer position in a lab at a nearby university. If you are more interested in being a practicing psychologist, it is usually pretty easy to get a full time job as a case manager or mental health technician somewhere. If you just want to practice, a clinical psych PhD might not be the best fit for you - you might want to look into MSW or clinical mental health counseling programs. 

If you do decide to go the clinical psych PhD route, I'd definitely try to find a job before doing a masters since those tend to be expensive! 

Edited by jk616