CVs/Research & Teaching Lists: What info is relevant?

Pierre de Olivi

Hello all,

As some of you know, I am currently a rising senior undergraduate looking into religious studies, theology, and history programs for admission in Fall 2019. I hope to use this summer to bang out a lot of materials related to my applications, but have already come up with a few questions as I've started working on CVs/resumes to submit with my application. I have prepared resumes when applying for summer jobs/internships, but have not yet had to prepare them for applications for further academic study, and therefore had a few questions:

1) I have been told that, when applying to jobs, a resume should be at most one full page. On the other hand, I have seen CVs by senior and even junior scholars that go on for pages. Is there a generally-accepted "maximum length" for CVs/resumes when applying to graduate school?

2) What information should generally be included on a resume when applying for graduate programs in the humanities? Right now, I plan for my resume to include an "Education" section, a section on employment history and work experience (both work related to my prospective field of study and non-academic work/academic work not directly related), a list of academic awards and grants, and a list of skills (including languages) and miscellaneous certifications. I took out a section on volunteer work at the suggestion of my undergraduate adviser, but I still worry it will look like I am padding my application. Is there anything I should cut?

My questions have further been compounded because some schools to which I plan to apply do not ask for full resumes/CVs, but only a list of "relevant teaching and research experience." However, there are a few jobs I have worked at which I am not sure I should include, and I was wondering if anybody with more experience than I could tell me if they would look like I was padding my application or not: