Planning My Grad School Applications. Advice?

So I recently decided that I want to become an SLP.  I'm a few years removed from undergrad where I majored in English.  My overall GPA was 3.25 with my major GPA being 3.5.  I took a Kaplan practice GRE today and my results were: Q - 144, V - 155.  I realize these scores and GPA are not super competitive but I am hopeful that I can get into some programs.

Just enrolled in Stats and Bio at my local community college.  Also applying to Kean's Pre-Professional program where you take around 7 CSD courses.  I am hoping that I can crush these classes, raise my GPA and develop relationships with faculty to get some good LORs. Also looking to volunteer at a Children's hospital in the fall.

I have brief work experience in tutoring, serving, security, firefighting and more.

I would like to go somewhere in New Jersey but I'm unsure if I'll be competitive.  Do you guys have any advice on where to apply or what I can do to improve my profile?

8 hours ago, FutureAuD03 said:

When are you looking to apply? Because by the sound of you taking classes, I would assume next fall?

Yeah I think that would make the most sense. Unless there is a program that would include pre-requisites. But even so I think it makes the most sense to just strengthen my resume over the next year to increase my chances. 

Im excited to start my SLP journey but have to admit it’s a bit overwhelming and complex!