Should I or should I not?

reenujose

PhD   

5 members have voted

1. 1. I am an economics graduate from India. I did my UG and PG at not so reputed universities (Madras Christian College and Central University of Kerala respectively). The two courses weren't quant heavy. I have no publications. I wish to apply for Ph.D. programs in the USA. What are my chances of getting admitted at least to the lowest tier universities? Please help. I could save a lot of money on the application fee. GRE Quant: 160, Verbal: 161

• No chance.
    • Give it a try

Hello guys,

I am an economics graduate from India. I did my UG and PG at not so reputed universities (Madras Christian College and Central University of Kerala respectively). The two courses weren't quant heavy. I have no publications. I wish to apply for Ph.D. programs in the USA. What are my chances of getting admitted at least to the lowest tier universities? Please help. I could save a lot of money on the application fee.

GRE Quant: 160, Verbal: 161

• 5 weeks later...

Hi reenujose,

What Ph.D. programs are you thinking of applying to? A Ph.D. in economics? From my knowledge (biological sciences), international students have to be very competitive in applying to the U.S. simply because there aren't a lot of spots at many universities. For biological sciences, international students are recommended to have strong research experience, especially strong letters of rec, a high TOEFL score and a very high GRE score. I think what can definitely increase your chances is to reach out to the professors at the universities you want to study. If you can establish a connection with them, they could potentially keep a lookout for your application when you apply. Grad school is all about connections!

Maybe someone in your field can weigh in to your situation better than I have.