M.F.A. applying to PhD Rhet/Comp

I graduated with an M.F.A. in Creative Writing last year and am looking to apply to Rhet/Comp programs this Fall (for 2019). Does anyone have any useful tips, seeing as I am not coming from a rhetoric/composition background? I have been working as a professional writer and will also be adjuncting at a community college this Fall.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

I think it's important to remember that most applicants aren't coming in with an MA in Rhet/Comp. However, there are some universities that heavily prefer applicants to have an MA in Rhet/Comp or have a very strong (class) background in Rhet/Comp. I think about what your interests are. Are they in Writing Center Administration? Writing Across the Curriculum? Technical Communication? Digital Humanities? Second Language Acquisition? Public Discourse?

Once you determine your interests, find articles on them. See whose writing you have an interest in. See where they work. See where they obtained their degree from. Research who has influenced their research and what organizations they are members of. Make note of if those institutions have a PhD program. Research those institutions and see if they have other people that you have an interest in. You'll notice a theme in places that might make good places that might be a good fit for you. Study their website and see if they mention anything about degrees. Rhet/Comp programs generally prefer a Master's program to be obtained prior to entering their PhD program. An MFA will count at most universities but I'd e-mail to be safe since there are some universities which heavily prefer you to have an MA in Rhet/Comp. Others might not consider an MFA to be equivalent.