How well do I match with top grad schools?

drosoanxiety

Question

Hi guys, 

I'm currently in my 4th year looking at molecular biology grad school programs (PhD) to apply for. I'll be graduating with a double major in Psychology (B.A.) and Biology with emphasis in Molecular cell Biology (B.S.). My GPA is at a 3.5, but hoping to graduate with 3.6+. I've been in 2 research labs, and both of my PIs have already agreed to write me a letter of recommendation. I should have one publication this year, and I have a good amount of lab experience (qPCR, producing cDNA, biotinylation/purification of RNA, dissection of Drosophila) 

I haven't taken my GRE yet, but I know for a fact I suck at taking standardized tests, so it probably won't be anything special.

I plan on applying to: UC Berkeley, UCLA, UC Davis, Scripps, Stanford, and Caltech. These will not be the only schools I'll be applying to, just schools that have 3-4 PIs that I'm interested in working with. 

How well would I match up to these schools? Do I have any kind of competition here? 

6 answers to this question

Then it sounds like you have all bases covered! I would suggest contacting them now! that's what I'm doing hahaha. i had a list of about 23 progs that had POIs i was interested in, then culled some based on the interactions with them! Let me know if there's anything else I can help with (eg. CV or something.)

16 hours ago, loffire said:

Competition should be steep and honestly I think they might be a bit of a reach, but no harm aiming for them. I would recommend looking at less competitive schools as well

Hi loffire, 

Do you have any suggestions as to how to improve my application? What am I missing from my application that would in turn improve my chances at these schools? Also, what schools would you suggest that I look at? Thank you for your honest opinion.