Advice on choosing my third recommender?

Hi all,

I am currently working on picking a third recommender for my PhD applications. About 2/3 of the programs I'm applying to are pure English, and the other 1/3 are cultural studies or theory-based programs (think Duke Literature, Stanford MTL, Berkeley Rhetoric, etc.). I am applying straight from BA; I'm currently an undergraduate English major.

My first two recommenders (who I've already settled on) are both from my undergraduate English department, and I am confident that both of those letters will be very strong.

For my third recommender, however, I have two options, and I'd love to hear some feedback on which would be better. The first option is a professor who's a scholar of cultural philosophy and critical theory (which are relevant to my interests in literary studies). However, the problem is, he's actually a professor in the Health studies department (his work focuses on global health and human rights using methods from critical theory and continental philosophy), so he is not affiliated with English at all. I will mention, his PhD is in the Humanities, even though the department he's listed in is considered a social science by my university. That all being said, he knows me really well; I've taken a grad seminar with him, written an extensive research paper under his guidance that included literary criticism, and I think he'd write a compelling letter for me.

The second option is a professor in the English department with whom I took a small undergraduate seminar, but I just don't know if she'd write quite as strong a letter. Perhaps she would; I don't feel like I'm choosing between a great option and a bad one or anything, but I just don't feel quite the same closeness with her and she hasn't struck me as someone who would necessarily write quite as deep or compelling a letter.