Digital/Media Studies/Comp. Lit. Ph.D. Programs

itslit

Hi, everyone!

I'm new to GradCafe, and I'm reaching out to ask about any programs you all may know of with strengths or established faculty working in "digital culture"—broadly defined—or related fields. I'm a second-year M.A. student in a comparative literature program at a top-15 public university, and I am set to send out Ph.D. applications in the next month or so. I hold two bachelor's degrees in two national literatures from an all right R1 state university, and I graduated summa cum laude and with a good deal of research-related honors. 

In short: I'm attempting to make the jump from literature-literature to media and culture, and I'm not sure where would be a great fit. I only have a handful of grad-level publications, but they're all in popular culture (TV, film, adaptation), and I've been presenting on memes, bots, and patterns in e-discourse at some conferences recently (as of this semester). My biggest concern is that my transcript won't reflect my interests or indicate a solid background in what I hope to study (2 film courses, 1 popular culture undergrad course), so I am considering more interdisciplinary programs and comparative literature departments at schools that have certificates in digital media/studies. I'm less wont to consider myself interested in the "digital humanities," if only because I understand that more as a methodology (using algorithms, etc.) than as the application of cultural studies paradigms on questions of the digital, but I ask that you please correct me if I'm wrong in that assumption.