addressing application weaknesses in SoP

Hello,

I am applying to graduate programs in biology this year. I have almost four years of post-graduate research experience in top-tier institutions and labs, and am a co-author on 5 peer-reviewed articles, 3 of which are in Science/Cell/Nature.  I have good GRE scores. 

I think I would make a strong applicant apart from the glaring issue of my undergrad GPA (3.1). Unfortunately I experienced domestic violence and medical issues towards the end of high school up till sophomore year of college, which were partially resolved with professional help and positive changes that my family and I have made. I am really agonizing over whether this is appropriate to mention in an SoP. I haven't dove into the details at all so far, just said something along the lines of "I've experienced serious personal and medical issues at the time and persevered through them and my grades drastically improved in the last two years..." Is this sufficient?

I am sure there are a lot of stories similar to mine, particularly from folks who dealt with mental health challenges and that's perhaps even harder to address. I would love to hear how everyone's tackling gaps in their application due to these reasons, and I hope you all are doing better now. 

Edited by 10kb

• 4 weeks later...