Best psyd programs in New England?

camphamp5ver

So i'm in my third year of undergrad at Hampshire College in Amherst, MA. I love the Western Mass area and ideally would like to stay in the area (as after grad school I think I wanna settle down here). I plan on getting my Psyd in clinical psych and so far have found three options

-William James College

-Antioch (bit nervous about this one because it's commuter based...and i wouldn't want to live in the middle of nowhere new hampshire...)

-University of Hartford

I don't know if I'm researching programs too early, but I'm a first gen college student so this is waaaay out of my depth. I'm planning on taking off a year between undergrad and my doctorate program, but I'd still like as much information as possible. Does anybody have experience with the above programs and/or know of other new england based psyd programs?

I think it's important to realize a few things:

-The college you graduate from does not guarantee you to get a job within the same area 
- The "best" college depends on what you're interested in specifically in Clinical Psychology
-Research interests can change a lot from your 3rd year until you apply during your 4th year (And they might even change during your gap year)

I think it's important to talk to your professors and seek their advice on their experiences. Try to volunteer for them if you can to get a better understanding of the field to ensure that's what you want to do. By forming a stronger relationship with them, they'll be able to write you a stronger letter of recommendation and they may be able to make program recommendations that they think would be a great fit for you.

Hi! I did my undergrad, started a masters in Boston, and worked a few years in MA. 

First off, what are your reasons for PsyD vs. PhD? Secondly, why Clinical vs. Counseling?