Top MPP Programs - Can I get in from a regional public school?

jordanstev

Hello and thank you in advance for reading about my predicament.

I am an undergraduate at a regional public university. Let me be upfront--it's not a great school. I was accepted to a variety of really amazing colleges out of high school (University of Washington, St. John's College, etc) but I could not attend due to my parents refusal to co-sign for student loans or help me financially (they had high income so I did not qualify for student aid). So, I worked for a year and a half, more than full time, as a corporate research analyst to save up money for school.

At the end of that year, I enrolled in the local branch campus of a major state university. After a semester, I transferred here to a less regarded regional public school. Why? I was studying Public Affairs/Domestic Policy but I wanted a more Internationally-focused program and a school where I could study a language and study abroad. That, and I am paying far less and going into little (if any) debt. I am an International Affairs major pursuing a Gender Studies certificate with minors in Economics and Spanish.

I have not yet taken the GREs but I have always tested well, and with practice tests online I have always scored fair-high. My GPA is 4.0 currently and I will probably maintain between a 3.95 and 4.0 for my college career. Classes I have achieved 4.0 in include Statistics, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, and intermediate Spanish so not all super easy classes. I also have a calculus background (from high school).