Decisions..

Neurophilic

Hi everyone

I'm in a bit of a dilemma and would appreciate some friendly advice. I have applied to some clinical psychology and neuropsychology programs for Fall 2019, but am also trying to think long term in the event that I do not get accepted. 

Around 3-4 months ago I began a new part-time job as a clinical research coordinator. I thought this job would be perfect for experience, but the environment is really not what I expected and is not in psychology. Now, I've been offered a job as a psychometrist with a 40% pay increase.

Ultimately, as someone who is trying to get into these very competitive clinical psychology programs, which job do you think would offer a better foundation (and maybe impression for the admissions committee ?)? Research coordinator or psychometrist? On another note, leaving a job after 4 months is not easy.

Thanks!

N

I'm going to preface my thoughts by saying I am no expert on the admissions process, so I could be off base here.

That being said, I would argue the breakdown of desirable experience looks like this:
Ph.D.: 1. Research, clinically oriented, then 2. Clinical experience, especially within the population of interest

Psy.D.: 1. Clinical experience, population of interest, then 2. Research experience, general

I cannot speak to neuropsychology at all. That being said, I think it's important to keep in mind that a Ph.D. is a research degree at the end of the day. Ph.D. programs in general want to ensure you understand how to conduct research and, perhaps more importantly, you understand the literature itself. You want to show a strong theoretical understanding that drives your research work.