Hello all,

I am relatively new to grad cafe forum, so I apologize if I come off as naive or inexperienced in my first post. I am contemplating my options for graduate school which I will begin in the near future. In regard to my background, I am a current TFA corp member who hopes to go to law school after the typical two year stint. My ultimate goal is to work as a constitutional lawyer for the appellate division of the DOJ in Las Vegas, Nevada (my hometown) and become a law firm partner, a federal judge, or a professor of constitutional law here. My first option for grad school  would be to apply to Oxford for a two year Mphil in history/political science and then law school. I've already spoken to a supervisor who is very interested.  My second option would be to go to Oxford for a year (if at all) and attend a joint jd mpp program preferably with hks/georgetown law. My heart tells me to go for the first option as I'm a huge history buff and it's cheaper. Also, I'm not much of a quantitative guy, and I'm told that the mpp has a strong quant component. Plus, my joint jd mpp plan is probably more expensive especially if I factor in the year at Oxford, and I would limit my options for law schools. Finally, I imagine that I could always attend hks for a midcareer masters while it would be harder to attend Oxford midcareer. At the same time, the second option seems more appealing because I think that a degree from hks would probably look better for a public service career because of the faculty (David Gergen, Roger Porter) and networking options.  Am I right in this career? Which option should I chose? Would one degree look better than the other for the field I want to go into or would both be equally regarded?  In any case, I am very confused and ask for your counsel. Academically and professionally, I think that I am well-qualified. I've been published, elected to Phi Beta Kappa, and won awards for my internships and academic projects. This also provided me with so