Getting into soc PhD with econ BA

aiaiaice

Hi,

I graduated with a BA(from a top 15 liberal arts college) in econ with minor in French a couple yrs ago, and after long contemplation I have decided that I want to pursue a new path in sociology. I'm planning to apply next cycle, at the end of 2019, so I'm preparing to start researching & studying whatever I need to study. But I'm seriously worried if I stand any chance in top programs. I had no desire to do a PhD while I was in college and, being a rare sub-middle-class international student, I made practical decisions and never even thought of studying sociology or even taking a sociology class. Also I lean very much towards the left (not quite a Marxist but almost) but my experiences don't really reflect that :( Please give me any advice that you have!

My stats:

GPA: 3.88

GRE: diagnostic test: verbal 166 / quant 167. I could probably get something like 168/170 if I study

Research interest: Inequality, economic sociology (maybe). I'm planning to narrow down for the next few months by reading sociology journals etc

Work experience:

- currently a research assistant for fiscal policy at the International Monetary Fund. Basically a data machine with not a ton of critical thinking

- worked in econ consulting for almost 2 yrs before this which is basically useless

- other than that, small internships at an immigrant center and a Parisian social enterprise during college

Research experience:

Just a bit in econ. Didn't write thesis, but wrote 2 pretty solid papers for econ classes. I could try participating in a board paper at the IMF

LOR: 

Weak.

- An econ professor in whose class I wrote a paper and did well said he will gladly recommend me in the future, but I only took one class with him and we didn't talk a lot

- There's a poli sci professor who would remember me and might write a pretty decent, but not great letter

- IMF economists will be able to write a couple good letters for me